Walking Wombat

By WalkingWombat

The saddest of days

Life has a way of throwing curve balls when you least expect it but really in our hearts CCN and I knew that today was not far away. Early this morning we received a call from her sister to tell us that our beautiful Nettie, Catherine's 95 year old mum had passed away. Our plans to hold a birthday gathering at Wombat Hollow were put on hold and we ended up having a very quiet day together reflecting on a wonderful life and one of the best mum's in the world.

Today I realised what an incredible group of people my Blackheath Blipper buddies are. Without hesitation they just stepped up to the plate to make sure that our wonderful Kiwi blip buddies were well looked after. Trisharooni threw open her home and hosted a wonderful lunch and was supported by all of our blip friends and their partners. A huge heartfelt thank you to all of you. Catherine and I will definitely have you all out to Wombat Hollow in the very near future when life settles down a little to thank you for your very special effort today.

Late this afternoon after Beckett had dropped Rainie and Doug home I had an opportunity to take them to my own stamping ground and we visited Hargreaves Lookout, Mt Blackheath and a secret fire trail to take in the spectacular sunset. Catherine and I have loved having Doug and Rainie visit us and we know in our hearts that this will not be the last time that we sit around a fire together enjoying each other's company. Timaru here we come.

The sunset tonight was a metaphor for me off a beautiful woman who has gone to join her life partner of over 70 years. I love you so much Nettie for taking me in as one of your family from the very first time I met you. At the ripe old age of 65, when my mum passed away, you adopted me as your third daughter and you made sure you let everyone know. God speed Nettie.

My image today was taken late this afternoon with a LOT of help from Rainie. The glorious irises were a very kind and thoughtful gift from 59 for CCN's birthday on Tuesday. Thank you 59 they have given Catherine great comfort today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.