Late-flowering honeysuckle

This morning the car had a flat tyre, so Pete changed the wheel and I then took the car to Kwik Fit. It turned out that yesterday's pothole had ripped the wall of the tyre, which couldn't be repaired, so I had to shell out for a new one - particularly annoying as I'd only had this one fitted earlier in the summer. The service was fairly quick, though they did seem to be employing a young man who found it very difficult to reverse cars . He nearly took the wing mirror off one car and I watched with some nervousness when he backed my car out through the doors. I dd feel a bit sorry for him, because he had quite an audience, and other members of staff were trying to tell him what to do - always very stressful.

Most of the rest of the day was spent working, with a brief interlude in the early afternoon to take Alex to Orton Pit to change the camera traps. While he did that I had a short walk to look for butterflies, but it was cool, grey and breezy, so very little was about. I spotted this late-flowering honeysuckle growing among the shrubs - almost certainly a garden escape but clearly quite happy in its new location.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.