Just a tiny glimpse ...

of Matthew Wadsworth playing the `theorbo', an instrument of Italian origin in St Hilda's church, Danby.  Part of the North York Moors Chamber Music Festival.  A very complex stringed instrument and Matthew did absolute justice to it.  He also played his new lute and the maker was there to witness its inaugural outing.  This was followed by afternoon tea and cakes    - a wonderful afternoon.

The morning was good too.  We walked across Danby Rigg and the sun shone.  Fortunately it was not quite as windy as yesterday.  We took our time enjoying photographing the butterflies and heather and I added two new butterflies to my collection, a wall brown and a small copper, but I thought I might have shared enough butterflies for now.

I also led us astray among the bracken on our downhill stretch.  In April, when I last explored, it was easy to find my way down by these smaller paths but today it was well overgrown with bracken and we had great difficulty following the path.  Still we made it in the end and found an alternative way back which would have been much too wet to walk last April.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.