Temple Newsam, Leeds

Today we spent the day with Jean, who was one of Jon's rangers at Wandlebury. She has moved to Leeds and works in a variety of places, including Temple Newsam, which is where we met her this morning at 10am. Being staff, Jean was able to take us in to the farm as her guests. It is a rare breed farm, so I don't remember the names of the rare sheep, cattle, pigs and goats we met, but these bagot goats were some of the sweetest (& naughtiest!) There were piglets, escaped and wandering in places they are not meant to be, the ugliest turkeys I have ever seen, and ex beach donkeys, enjoying retirement.

We also walked around the vast grounds of this beautiful council maintained park, and with Jean also a geocacher, found a cache for Henry to drop the trackable into, that he had found in Roslin last week. We wandered through a narrow glasshouse within the a walled garden. It had some incredible plants, including geraniums that had been trained up a wall, and were easily 7ft high. I've never seen geraniums like it. I took lots of photos! We had a coffee break, then picnic lunch (yes, with my box, but I've spared you photos) and a look around the shop. Jean gave us ideas of other places to visit in the area, including Kirkstall Abbey.

We parted at 4, and negotiated the Leeds roads, heading to the abbey. We don't plan to come back to Leeds this week. When we eventually reached the road with the abbey, we knew we just HAD to stop and walk around. I wish my phone was able to upload more, but I may put some on facebook. It is a breathtaking ruin. I never knew there were places like this in this country, and it makes me wonder what else we are missing. I can't describe it, just make sure you visit!! (& its free). We did it in 30 mins, and back on the road, home by 6.

A really lovely day. Seeing old friends. Meeting cute animals. Seeing old ruins. Sun. Shorts. Picnic. All good.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.