Arkensiel Photography

By arkensielphoto

Crochet

This afternoon I have been to a crochet workshop in Waterstones Café in Bishop’s Stortford; this was run by Vanessa from Skylark Designs. I have wanted to learn to crochet for a very long time. I can do a chain, but I have not got much further than that, despite various books, websites and “youtube” videos.
 
Once I arrived I found I was “ham-fisted” and could no longer do a chain! The small sample on the left shows my first attempt at a chain and then trebles; not very good! Vanessa was very patient with me and a very good teacher. By the end of the session, I had managed to make a start on a “Granny Square”. Yes, there is a mistake in it and I left it in so that I could see what I had done wrong; other mistakes were pulled undone; there were quite a few!!!
 
I need to get the tension right and forget how to knit, while crocheting, as this is very different; the work is much looser than knitting. I think that by the end of the session I was using the hook more although I have to concentrate on what I am doing. Vanessa assured me that it would become easier. I shall practice on this square for a while longer and then start a new one from scratch; hopefully the next one will be better; watch this space. Once I become more proficient I think I shall attend another beginners course, so that I can learn more stitches and techniques.

I visited my family on the way home to show Victoria my work. I said it would be a long while before I can teach her to crochet. Her reply was that she would stick to practicing knitting purl stitches for a while!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.