Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Domestic goddess for the day!

My cousins Joan and Freda, along with Joan's husband, Bob, came to see us today. Joan has Parkinson's disease that is now rapidly advancing. We had decided to stay downstairs in Mum's lounge rather than going upstairs to mine. Last time they came, Joan was distressed when she rode down on our stairlift and she can't really manage the stairs.

I am sorry to say that the condition is much worse. She could not settle in any of the chairs we provided, whatever the height or shape. She was very upset about it and kept walking up and down the hall, with Bob to keep her on her feet. We all had a cup of tea and they did try my scones and my St Clement's biscuits, but then she just had to leave, immediately.

What a horrid disease this can be. At times she could hardly speak, but at other times there were whole sentences and conversation.

So, I offer you the remaining scones, almost floating because they are so light (!) They are from Mary Berry's recipe on the Saga website. My biscuits were from Seasonal Cooking by Lady Macdonald of Skye. I just added lemon rind to the orange recommended. She said to cook a double quantity because they are moreish - and I did.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.