Luck

Today’s Blip took care of itself.

I’d decided to cycle to the southwest end of the island to see the ruins of 13th century Achanduin Castle. The sign at the junction with the main road indicated 2 miles. That was to the settlement. The castle is another mile after that, walking through cattle and sheep dung plus mud.

It turned out well however. As I got close I saw a big bird perched on the top of the ruins - yup, an eagle.

I thought it would see me quickly and disappear, but it let me get as close as 100m. Then it took off, but instead of disappearing it circled me for a while and flew right over my head to get a good look at me.

Amazing. 

Folk here reckon it’s a sea eagle.

One of the extras is the bird in flight. It was huge.

The other is Port Ramsay at the other end of the island. See what I’m having to deal with here?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.