COFFEE AT JACK'S? DON'T MIND IF I DO!

After my day in Salisbury yesterday, I was a little later getting up this morning, and when Mr. HCB offered to take me out for coffee at Jack’s, I was quite happy!  

As many of you know, this is the place where we meet up with friends and today was no exception.  I had a chat first of all with Pete, a photographer, who was bemoaning the fact that Facebook and the internet were both swamped with mediocre photographs and he also said that the local paper had stopped paying for any photographs he provided and just relied on free ones sent in by readers.  How sad.

We were pleased to see Trevor because with our surfeit of beans and cucumbers, we had taken a bagful for him, for which he was delighted.  We had also taken a small bag for our friend, Margaret, but she said she doesn’t eat beans, cucumbers or tomatoes, so instead I took them round to Kate, our friend at Leightons - whose eyes lit up when she looked in the bag.  It was a good job that Dawn wasn’t there or she would have been disappointed not to have some too, I’m sure.  Better sort out some for her and take them in at the end of the week!

Then Trevor’s wife came in with a friend, so another little chat with her and finally, our friend, Dave, came and sat with us and of course, he and Mr. HCB chatted about sport, so I turned round and took this quick pic of Trevor reading his paper.  It was going to just be a mono shot of him, until our lovely waitress, Flo, came over and I snapped this one of her.  She is a lovely lady, always smiling and upbeat - but who said, when I asked if I could take her photograph, that she doesn’t take a good one - well, I beg to differ, Flo - you look fantastic!

Going out with our grandson, Harry, later to Pizza Express to celebrate the end of his first year of accountancy exams - over all he got an average of 99.4% -  and mustn’t forget our other grandson, Joshua, who got an A* in his “A” level exam in maths last week and now has a place at Cardiff University.  I think it comes from Mr. HCB because it certainly doesn’t come from me!

“The difference between 
     the poet and the mathematician 
          is that the poet 
tries to get his head into the heavens 
     while the mathematician 
          tries to get the heavens into his head.” 
G.K. Chesterton

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.