Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Tubac, Arizona

The Blipfoto Community Blog has asked us to show where we would take a visitor.  I chose Tubac, AZ.  Tubac is 34 km/21 mi from the U.S.-Mexican border.  It's a mere twenty minutes from my house. Notice the flags hanging next to the entrance sign:  Tubac, Mexico, Arizona, United States.  All are welcome.

Tubac features over 100 eclectic shops and world class galleries situated along meandering streets punctuated by hidden courtyards and sparkling fountains. I can spend a full day wandering amongst this wealth of painting, sculpture, ceramics and photography, as well as unique regional fashion, leather, crafts, antiques and jewelry.

The Tubac Center of the Arts (last extra), commanding the main intersection in the village, offers a full range of arts programming and seasonal exhibits that are not to be missed. In season, it serves as a live artist community. Several locally owned restaurants and bars offer outstanding fare for breakfast through evening cocktails.

Three of my favorite stops are the Presidio State Historic Park (gotta read about this!), the Karen Newbie Gallery and my favorite eatery, the Tubac Deli.

My photos were too large to make a collage so I added some in extras. The first is in front of the deli.  It's a sculpture of a "Guide Dog for the Mind." That's kind of an unofficial slogan for this community where the Arts and History meet.  

Next is a creature I wouldn't want in my yard, surrounded by metal Mexican-crafted flowers and little bugs (which often do  end up in yards).  I might go back and buy a bug or two   :-) 
The last, as I said above, is the Tubac Center for the Arts. If I get enough nerve, I'll submit a photo or two for one of their exhibits. 
(It was too large to post. I have to adjust it.)  Done!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.