Earwigs

There were some oldsters with us on our bike ride today (me excluded). So we decided to called ourselves  the Essex Area Riding With Intrepid Geriatrics Society-EARWIGS. Look out for the new club jersey in due course.  More about jerseys later. 

We had a change from the usual Wednesday routine. Ron ferried us north of the London suburbs in his minibus and we parked in a village close to the lanes to the north of the county. Once on our bikes our trusty guide, John, led us out to the Blue Egg café for refreshments where we enjoyed a snack while fighting off the wasps. Some in the group moaned about the route but I thought it was a great ride even though I got detached from the bunch at one point and thought I was lost. As I had forgotten my phone I couldn't make contact. Fortunately they were waiting for me as I retraced in search of them.

The Blue Egg is a favourite with cyclists - see the jerseys of Mark Cavendish (world champion version) and Alex Dowsett among others in the extra.

Then a second tea stop on the way back to the van. My last ride in Blighty before going to France for a few weeks. Thanks, Earwigs, for a great expedition. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.