The Way of Colour

By Beachcomber149

Abating

12C. Winds abating. Rain at first, easing.

When I woke this morning the first thing I did was peep through the curtains and look across the field the half mile to the sea to look at the waves. The sea was grey and there was clearly salt spray in the air, and the waves were raging on to the rocks from the East. I was thinking of 'Valhalla VI' land hoping she was safe.

Apothecary7 had her day off today. We had no particular errands to run, but just went into M&S in Dundee for coffee and carrot cake in their cafe and to pick up some food. Too wet to visit the North Carr Lightship.

I have taken Maeve the Deerhound out today, but just for short local walks to do the things dogs need to do. I waited until after 4 o'clock when the rain was off, then took the car down to Westhaven. I walked along to the Fishermen's huts and had a quick look round. The people who own 'Shamara' were using a power washer to clean all the seaweed and salt off their fishing gear. 'Valhalla V' has disappeared from in front of the end hut. I will check later in the week to see if she is up by the house that is past the end hut. Nothing seemed out of place at the huts after the wind last night.

I blipped 'Valhalla VI' as I was delighted so see her sitting on her trailer on the beach. The sand had lots of tractor tracks round about the boat and the trailer is now sitting with its wheels on some of the corrugated iron sheets that were replaced on a hut roof a while back. Could be that she was moved by the waves and wind at high tide. The new spot is much tighter against the grass/dunes. Safe!

Later Apothecary7 might be on Blipfoto using her new iPad :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.