Tougher than she looks!

Not a great day today and I haven't been out since taking Mrs M to the station first thing this morning. It's raining gently on and off and this has rather put me off going out on a runner bean distributing walk around the neighbours!
 
I decided to Blip this lovely bulb which is one of a trayful of pots just outside the house. Hippeastrum x ackermannii (or maybe H. x acramannii - there's some debate) is a hybrid of two species of hippeastrum. These are South American bulbs, as friends who have heard me pontificate on the subject will already know, and not amaryllis under which name they are usually sold.
 
Unlike the bulbs which make (un)popular Christmas presents, this hybrid is practically hardy; I grew it outside at Arduaine and these plants have stood outside in pots through the last wet winter in Oban and are all flowering now.
 
I must find a warm, sunny spot for them when I finally have a garden!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.