But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

New Forth Bridge.

Back Blip alert.

Today’s cycle run was a long hard one to the extremities of Fife, Kinghorn Loch where there is a little gardening community and a café. I woke up a little late and the weather was pretty miserable, so didn’t rush to get to the start and arrived about half an hour late; not to worry, I’d catch them up before lunch using the theory that “He travels fastest who travels alone.” They were obviously making good time as I didn’t see hide nor hair of them and decided that I wasn’t as fit as I had thought I was (it turned out that I wasn’t – but that’s another story), but they were not at Kinghorn so I realised that there must have been a change of plan.
 
Battling back to The Bridge into a rising headwind wasn’t easy; I saw a jogger in front and used him as incentive to speed up; it was totally demoralizing as it took several miles to overhaul him. When I caught him, he was actually smiling; some people have no regard for their fellow man’s feelings. I was actually quite surprised to arrive at the bridge and find that the cycle path was still open as the management are a little conservative and send out a pick-up truck to pick up wayward cyclists in bad weather. What they consider to be dangerously high winds for cyclists are not necessarily considered so by cyclists. However it was sufficiently blustery to make it difficult to point the camera in the right direction, that is, towards the base of one of the towers of the fifth Forth crossing. Fortunately, by this time, the sun was showing itself and the evening showed every prospect of being nice in spite of the wind.
 
The designated coffee stop was very quiet, no hordes of unruly cyclists but lots of cake left over; obviously our lot had not been there. I was just five miles from home when the torrential thunder storm started; I was absolutely drenched and the cameras were left near the stove to dry out overnight. It was when I had checked my emails that I discovered that the club had merely pootled about in West Lothian for a few hours in the morning before returning home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.