But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

Tropaeolum speciosum.

Herself is rather proud of her Tropaeolum whose striking red flowers show up so well against the ivy through which it grows and, in the past, I have been the victim of serious grief for clumsily decapitating it while trimming said ivy. It was only when I started looking at it closely to find the best of the rapidly deteriorating blooms that I noticed that it is obviously a variety of nasturtium; on mentioning it to Mrs TD I was warned – on pain of death – that neither the leaves or the flowers were to find their way into my lunchtime salads which is a shame, it would add a certain piquancy, not to mention a touch of colour.

Its full name is Tropaeolum speciosum and is, apparently, commonly known as flame creeper, flame nasturtium or Scottish flame flower.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.