I am far, far away...

Dear Diary,

Since I am somewhat limited on what I can do and where I can travel, I have decided to travel through my photographs.  Six years ago about this time, I was returning from a three week trip to the Western Isles of Scotland, specifically, South Uist although I did visit Barra, Eriskay and North Uist as well.

I am going through my files and choosing ones for a book about that trip.  I should have done it ages ago but this seems the ideal time.  On my first trip back in 2005 I concentrated on making black and white images.  I was influenced by Paul Strand and his trip in 1954.  I got a rather sizable grant to make that trip. This time I was in full color mode.

I've added a couple of extra images.  One of the cottage I stayed in, which is owned by the nephew of one of Paul Strand's subjects, and a portrait of a lovely lady I made.  She was photographed by Strand as a young girl.  I made a few portraits on that trip but it was the landscape and the immense and ever changing sky that really drew me in.

This is Loch Bee and I have several photographs of that location.  I just loved the cows grazing on the little areas of sweet grass.  If I could, I would be on a plane tomorrow to return to this special place.  Sigh...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.