Experimenting...

...mixed 6 little pots of acrylic paint, one large one of white, then one black, light blue, metallic blue, peach, metallic purple. I am hoping it is enough for the next few days and doesn't dry.

This is the flow/pour type paintings, the ones I have been doing recently. And trying to get cells on them. All these You Tubers get magnificent cells....

The cells depend on a variety of factors which so far elude me. One of them seems to be to use silicone.

I only had WD 40 so I was trying that out in previous blips.

I bought a variety of stuff to use, and found some stuff in the house. I have got some actual silicone now, but am saving that try out until last. I've ordered some off Amazon too which should come next weekend.

So today I tried, Kiwi waterproofer protector. It was in a spray can and I have had it for years. So it is probably not available anymore, and most probably would have different ingredients now.

I didn't use much. As I said I mixed all the paints in advance. I just used acrylic paint and water, about half and half. I am only using cheap paints here. Once they are used up I will then use the better paints.

So, the only different thing each day will be the extra ingredient I add to the very tiny Pritt-stick glue top which I am using as a container to hold the different layers of paints. And I will decant some white into a small container. To both of these I will add the extra ingredients. In this case it was a quick spray of the Shoe Protector before I put the paints in.

I turned the canvas upside down, put the thimble full of paint on it and turned it over. Then I poured some white paint all on the rest of the exposed canvas.

I lifted the container a tiny bit and pushed it round a bit, letting a little paint escape. I didn't move the canvas at all at this point. The resulting painting was the picture on the top right.

I didn't like it. Too much of the peachy colour.

I didn't add any more paint, I simply tilted the canvas so the bottom right was higher than the top left. That was all I did. And this black emerged from below and literally wiped out the peach colour. So, the bigger picture on the left side is what I left it at. Bottom right is a detail of a portion of that.

I did see some cells initially but they disappeared.

So this is my painting for today for my challenge to myself of a pic every day in 2017.

Tomorrow, I will do exactly the same, the paints are already mixed, and add some spray waterproofer for clothes.

There is a possibility you may get bored with me in the next few days because I am using the exact same mixed colours for each painting, only changing the ingredient which may produce cells. But this is me experimenting. And it may be interesting....

I have already fallen asleep just before I finished writing this post, and when I woke, there were a few lines of gobbledegook I had typed......

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.