DAMSELFLY

I think for few people this insect is a mystery. So it does not fit the theme of this Tiny Tuesday Challenge.
In the morning Mischa visited us, we had coffee and talked about her project for the autumn. Developping her drawing skills.
When she had gone to work, Piet Hein and I cycled to the sea.
It was a warm day, and many families and dogs were on the beach. Many just sunbathing, others playing with a ball, or building castles.
A nice walk, a rest, and a swim.
After lunch I cycled to the Heempark. Perhaps I could find the dragonflies I had seen the other time. And yes there they were, and one sat long enough time still, but no good photo.
I decided to cycle to the park, see if the swans were still there.
On my way to the park I saw a woman taking photos of a flying heron.
I found the swans but they were not together in one place, but at several spots. When I cycled back, the same woman stood on the same spot.
I was curious what she was still doing there, and this was the explanation: the heron was her heron, she had given him/her for five years little bits of cheese (kilos when you came to think of it) and it was amazing of course because the heron stood at arms lengths from her.
She pointed too to a grebe in the little canal, look she said, she has three babies on her back. She is waiting for the father to come with a fish for them.
And she told me that when the father earlier had come with one, the heron had managed to take it away before the babies could have a bite.
She showed me a photo of the heron with the fish in his/her bill.
I stayed there for quite a time, the grebe family was too far away for my camera to catch a good view.

And my last five silly hearts I will give tonight to Ninniex, Honeycombebeach, Muguet, Yorkshirebred, and evolybab.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.