There is plenty for everyone

Dear Diary,

I do love watching the bees on the sedum when it blooms at this time of year.  In this photograph there are three different types of bees all sharing the same flower.  At times, they actually bumped into each other but never stopped gathering their pollen or became agitated.  It reminded me of the Mahatma Gandhi quote: "The world has enough for everyone's needs, but not for everyone's greed."  Sharing is something we humans seem to have a lot of problems with.

I have been reading a lot about the terrible flooding in Houston because of the torrential rains of Hurricane Harvey, made worse by the above average water temperatures in the Gulf of Mexico caused by global warming.  The unfettered development in Houston, where wet lands and green spaces were paved over to make more land available to build on, has added to their problems now.  The water has nowhere to go.  Greed wins and people lose their homes.  When will we ever learn.

As a get older I find my needs have diminished.  How many clothes do you really need?  How many pairs of shoes?  All I need is a good book, a comfy bed and a simple meal and I am happy.  Oh, and Emerson of course.  He is key to my sense of well being.  That reminds me of another Gandhi quote that is appropriate for today:  "Live simply so others can simply live."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.