Hanging garden of the Theatre Royal Bar, Edinburgh

I am envious of this floral display outside the Theatre Royal Bar on Leith Walk, which I passed this afternoon on a trip up to town.

I always seem to suffer the ill-effects of jet-lag on the second night after I return to the UK. Last night these were rather severe in that I didn't get to sleep until about half an hour before the morning alarm was due to go off! I passed the 7.5 hours or so before this trying to sleep in my own bed, reading in my own bed, trying to sleep on the sofa, reading on the sofa, and listening to the World Service/Radio 4 on the sofa. In the end I probably managed about 5 hours sleep in total - by lying in very late.

The 'best' element of my insomnia is that it gave me the opportunity to read A life discarded by Alexander Masters in a single sitting lying. Thank you to Ridgeback13 for the recommendation. I loved it!

In my waking day-time hours I have continued my post-holiday sorting spree. I have one more day to myself tomorrow before I return to work on Friday.

Exercise today: walking (6,663 steps).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.