Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

The best birthday present!

Mum's birthday is not until September 5th, but we have started celebrating already. I've already given her a hedgehog feeding station, because she was bothered about the local cats who were coming to steal the hedgehogs' food at night. We have plans for the actual day.

One thing that has been bothering her for ages is that she has not been able to use her beloved Singer sewing machine. It was state of the art (more than 50 years ago) but it is heavy and impossible for her to move. The newer, small machine is just not good enough for the work she wants to do.

The Singer has been serviced and finally set up on her desk, but it ws NO GOOD because the light was coming straight in from the window and stopped her seeing the thread. It was impossible to thread the needle.

I had suggested turning the table by 90 degrees, but she was sure it would take up too much space. Today I persuaded her to let me try. It took 5 minutes and now you see one very happy seamstress. (Please don't look at anything that is not tidy, or I will be in deep trouble.)

I went to see the dentist who pronounced that the implant and transplant sites are all healing well. The burning sensation over my palate should go in time.......... We have postponed the next stage of the procedure to make sure that the bone graft has taken so I may have the new tooth in by Christmas.

In other news, I was thrilled because the RPS Northern newsletter for September includes an article I wrote about my holiday in Sifnos, "In Search of Henri Cartier Bresson". There are several of my images there, including one on the back page of the journal.

Now all I have to do is decide about how to set up a picture for the Walking Festival teeshirt. This may take me some time I fear!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.