Howard's Hughes

What is wrong with my brain? Why didn't the connection between Hughes helicopters and Howard Hughes occur to me? These lovely machines are a favourite of my son and I appreciate their tear-drop design. The one that flew over today has the registration G-KAYS. It reminds me of the Kays mail order catalogue, not that I ever subscribed. Evidently it belongs to a firm that sells supplies for pilots. These helicopters were manufactured by a company owned by Howard Hughes which was sold to McDonnell Douglas.

I started researching Howard Hughes. I already know quite a bit about him but I've never seen the film Aviator. MrQ says a band mate told him the soundtrack is good. We've been listening to tracks from it this afternoon. After You've Gone, Moonglow, I'll Be Seeing You, Moonlight Serenade, Happy Feet and I'll Build A Stairway To Paradise have all given MrQ a lift.

Today's poem is Sea Sonnet by Alice Oswald. http://beautifullywarped.tumblr.com/post/57558021466/two-sea-sonnets-by-alice-oswald

The sonnet in my book is the second in the link. Alice Oswald comments:
"It's about the extraordinary North Cornish coast, where all single things - even man and wife - feel far away from each other."
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.