A Total Eclipse Of The Duck

It rained all day so I first went and sat in Longlands Hide at Fishers Green. I spotted a bird of prey in a distant bush but it didn't budge. A heron was hunting in the stubble but quite a way off. 

From there to the Bittern Hide. Nothing much doing. Got a parakeet in flight and warbler in the reeds. My image is of mallard ducks. After they have raised their young they moult and for a short period cannot fly and are vulnerable to predators. During this time and for a while afterwards the males, which are usually brightly coloured, have plumage which is very similar to that of the females. This period is known as eclipse. I think my pic shows three males and a female. The males retain their yellow bills.

Today's poem is Fatal Interview XLVII by Edna St Vincent Millay. http://wherepoetrycrosses.blogspot.co.uk/2013/08/well-i-have-lost-you-by-edna-st-vincent.html

"I don't want to keep someone who doesn't want to be kept." "I deserve better than someone who doesn't want to be with me."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.