First day at work

After breakfast, I walked over to the University and picked up my keys, activated my computer account, and generally familiarised myself with the environment. That took until lunchtime, when I met Mr A and MF (a former PhD student now in Helsinki) for a perfectly acceptable Chinese. After that, Mr A and I wandered back to the apartment as I have more to be getting on with here than I do in the office thus far. I tried to set myself up with Unisport membership, but realised that I should have done the necessaries in the centre of the city, not out here. That will have to wait. I also realise that it isn't a gym as such out the back of here, but none the less the exercise possibilities should not be too difficult. Meanwhile, I'm doing an epic number of steps, but a less epic number of floors as this city is flat, when compared to Edinburgh.

Later on, we pottered over to the shore to watch the sunset (along with large numbers of other city residents). The best shots came in the twilight as we headed home (for a quick snifter from the duty free Jura).

So that's the end of the first "working week" here. I think we've now got the hang of the place, more or less, but I'm sure there's a lot more to learn.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.