A time for everything

By turnx3

Red-tailed hawk

Wednesday
Such a treat today when I stopped off in Pioneer Park on my way back from the gym. I was photographing fallen leaves in the stream, when I was aware of the shadow of something large flying overhead. I looked up to see this red-tailed hawk flying quite low over the stream and landing a little way upstream. Unfortunately I only had my little camera with me, so I decided I would try and sneak a bit closer. I edged my way along to the next tree, and then he took off, and I expected that would be the last I saw of him, but lo and behold he flew toward me and settled in the tree right above me! He let me get a couple of shots, (of which this is the better one) then flew off again, but only as far as the next tree. I moved slowly until I was underneath him again. He was a bit higher up this time and I was shooting against the sky, so those didn't come out quite as well, but he stayed there quite a while, occasionally preening himself, apparently unperturbed by me standing underneath. After a while another lady and her dog came along and asked what I was looking at, so I told her - and still the bird remained, occasionally looking down at us. Eventually it was I that left first - my stomach was telling me it was time for lunch! If only I'd had my bigger camera and binoculars with me!

One year ago: Fall color in the Sandia Mountains

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.