A time for everything

By turnx3

Sunset

Saturday
A beautiful sunny warm day, after a cool start. Roger and I got out for a bike ride on the bike trail this morning. Unfortunately it didn't get off to a very good start. I hadn't gone more than about half a mile when I heard a voice behind call out "Passing on your left". I instinctively pulled over more to the right, however that took me right to the edge of the tarmac, and I skidded on some wet leaves or wet earth, and I ended up sprawled on the bike path. I fell on my left side, bruising the side of my knee, hip, a nasty graze on my forearm (even though I had a sweatshirt on!) and a bump on the left hand side of my forehead, where I banged against my helmet. It's a good job I was wearing a helmet. We quite often see people on the bike trail, including a number of children, not wearing helmets - probably thinking they don't need to if they're not on a road - but it just shows how easy it is to have a mishap, and how important it is to wear a helmet. After I'd recovered a bit, I continued my ride - it wasn't a very long one today, as Roger had to get back for a meeting at noon. In the evening we were out at a family event put on by Roger's work - a sort of a mini airshow at a small grass-strip runway up near Wilmington Ohio. There was food and drink, various activities for the kids, airplane rides, tethered hot-air balloons, a helicopter display and three or four acrobatic displays, culminating, when it was almost dark, in the Starfire Night Skyshow, a 15 minute display of night aerobatics with special computer-controlled lighting and fireworks set off from the planes' wings. The display is choreographed to popular and patriotic music. We arrived a bit late because of Roger's meeting, so the airplane rides were beginning to wind down when we got there - and we wanted to make sure we got some food! It was a fun evening. While all this was going on, in the background there was a beautiful sunset, and that is what I finally decided to post as my blip. I was still feeling pretty sore from the morning's mishap, so once we got home, I took myself off to bed for an early night!

One year ago: "Miraculous staircase"!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.