Brief Notes

So much to write about, but it's very late, so just brief notes:

1) Rochester, New York, is a beautiful place here and there in the sunshine, like today. It's seen hard times but is moving up.

2) A three-hour time difference is more significant than I'd expected,

3) The best antidote for feeling tired  and out of sorts is the informal singing of beloved Welsh hymns from 10 pm to  midnight in the hotel bar, even if you seem to be the only alto there. A glass or two of Pinot Grigio helps, as does standing next to some good tenors and basses, and having volunteer choral conductors who don't let the tempo drag.

4) You never know when you might run into someone who graduated from the same high school you did  -- in my case, Charles F. Brush High School in a suburb of Cleveland, Ohio. I met Tom at the registration desk today, where I was picking up my corrected nametag. We were chatting about where we grew up, as folks over 60 often do, and discovered that not only had we graduated from the same high school in 1955 (Tom) and 1965 (me), we'd also played in the concert band and been section leaders (Tom clarinet, me flute) and gone to the same Presbyterian church, and left it to become Unitarians! (I'm now a member of a Congregational church.)

So much for brief...

Blip 1854

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.