Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Scabious

Devil's-bit Scabious was the nectar of choice for insects of all kinds down in Tong Park this morning; Peacock, Red Admiral, Speckled Wood and Large White were representing the butterflies.

Rarely do I find a Large White so docile that I can find just the right angle of sunlight to bring out the veins in their wings, but this one was oblivious to anything but the feed.

Then I waited in for the kids to return from their week away in Lincolnshire with their Mum. It's been fun having them show me their photos, both to realise how they're developing their own eye, but also how I've unwittingly been influencing them, particularly regarding the art of noticing obscure bits of street furniture.

All of which meant that we didn't get to the football today, but City flourished in our absence. A Charlie Wyke hat-trick providing a hint that maybe this season is going to be ok after all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.