Big Surprise!!!!!

We had a really rainy day today.  I went out to check the bonsai and the rain gage...  no surprise there.... nearly  2"  of rain today....

I went to check the trees.....  the first table was wet and the trees were dripping....  they were green and the soil was black and muddy.... no big surprise there.....

I went to the 2nd table.....  same thing, ..........

The 3rd table... wet, green and drippy and then out of the Serisa flew this black hornet with identical white spots on each side.  Surprise #1   It did NOT like me looking so close...  it pumped his thorax/stinger at me!!!!  I didn't need another warning... away I went, TO GET A CAMERA!

When I came back and carefully moved around to find him again (hiding behind the camera) , 2 more flew out of the tree....   I opened up the lens, got as close as the hornet would let me (by staying on the flower) and did get a bunch of pictures.  This was one, mean looking hornet.
   Upon returning to the house I immediately inserted the SD card out and looked at the photos in LR.  That was when I discovered that the hornet was drinking out of the tiny white flowers the Serisa has on it.  In the extra you can see it's drinking thingy, deep in the center of the flower!  Surprise #2.   
    The common name for the Serisa is A Tree of a Thousand Stars.  The flowers are tiny, abundant, and could look like the stars in the night sky.  I have hit the jackpot tonight... being able to catch a strange hornet,  having a drink from a tiny flower, and the multiple tiny flowers of the Serisa.   
      All in all, It's ok to have all the rain today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.