Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Hunting heron

My reward for going on a wet blip expo this morning was the chance to watch this hunting heron for a long time.  S/he didn't seem the slightest bit bothered by the camera and allowed me to get very close - closer than I've ever been to a wild heron.  To begin with I was unsure why s/he was hunting in the bank instead of over the path in the canal.  Then I realised - that flash of red blood on the beak belongs to a poor ex-frog, which I saw being caught and swallowed, though unfortunately when the heron's head was turned away from the camera.

Still, I can't complain, it was an absorbing 15 minutes, and if I and the camera got rather wet, we're home and dry now!

Hope Sunday's being kind to you, I'll catch up with you later  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.