Ripe figs!!!

It wasn't until I saw on my 'blip friend' Pamela's blip last year that she had grown figs to the point that they ripened, that I knew it was even possible in this country. I had a small fig tree in a pot when we lived in Cambridge. It came from my inlaws, and they had advised me to overwinter it in the greenhouse, and this is what I always did - sometimes forgetting about it, with it near to death on many occasions. It didn't grow much!

I brought it with me in 2015, and after seeing Pamela's blip, i planted it in the ground. I decided id take a chance - there are several on my road, which are big trees. Today, I spent the afternoon doing some weeding; long over due as bind weed has strangled EVERYTHING in my borders. On detangling the fig, I found three very ripe figs, plus a couple more almost ripe. As I understand it, the fruit that appears as a tiny bud this year, will be next years fruit. So this year there are 6, and about that many for next year. Amazing for my little tree to develop so much in just 2 years. It must be happy. Jon and I ate the figs!

What else today? Peeling and freezing apples and more beans. Plus weeding. Mollie has gone out with friends, saying a few farewells. I think she is missing them already. I cooked a roast, just for 4 this week, and an hour relaxing before bed would be nice....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.