Paladian

By Paladian

Isn't it funny how often you.....

....have a set plan for a blip, and it's blown out the window because you just turn around, spot something else, and voilà.

I got a few images of a hover fly this morning, but they just weren't quite right - the light was in the wrong place, and although they were sharp enough (just!) too much of the insect was in shadow.

Then I was sitting on the lawn just soaking up the fresh air and sunshine, and I saw this little chappie, in full sunlight, sitting quite still, no doubt waiting for his lunch. I've done a flower spider before, a yellow one who lived in a yellow tulip. This one is stripey, and lives in an arctotis, which is also a bit stripey. I'm sure they develop camouflage depending on their flower. Well, that's my theory anyway.

For all you arachnophobes, he's so tiny, he wouldn't hurt a fly - well, maybe a fly but not much else. For spider admirers, he does look quite good in large.

And, before I forget, thank you so much for all those hearts and *s for my butterfly blip yesterday. It took me into the spotlight page for the very first time. I was absolutely stoked, and very happy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.