Never again......

..... will I complain about being tethered to my booth at the Expo.

The Rower went out and got this image for me, and was attracted by the gorgeous service dog which was devotedly following this wonderful man around.

Turns out he was totalled by a drunk driver whilst crossing a road - he was clinically dead for more than 10 minutes, but when they removed the life support (after a month in a coma) he started to breathe on his own.

Here is his story.

I benched 315 pounds as a freshman in high school in Illinois and instead of playing football for Ohio State I focused on training for the 1994 Nationals Bodybuilding Championship.

On Sept. 10, 1993 the girl I was dating, her friend and I were crossing the street and all of us were  slammed into by a drunk driver who was going 60 in a 30-mph zone.  Thankfully we all survived.

I severely ruptured my aorta and I WAS DEAD FOR 10:48! After being in a coma for almost a month, I was pulled off life support but started breathing on my own.

Doctors said I would be confined to a bed and a nursing home for the rest of my life and psychiatrists said I was delusional to think I would have any kind of life.  So between hearing that and realizing that it just wasn't my time during that 10:48, I made it my goal to prove them wrong and make a real difference in this world.

Fifteen months later after constantly trying, I moved my big toe and then in 1997, I could finally stand, move my feet and was able to drive a car once again a few years later.

After years of training, I was crowned the World Heavyweight Wheelchair Bodybuilding Champion for Paraplegics in 2002.

I drove for Lucky Cab in Las Vegas and was the only paraplegic cab driver in the state of Nevada.

SPEAKING ENGAGEMENTS:  My love and intention is to keep encouraging people across the nation by speaking at schools, functions, groups, churches and businesses.  I have been heavily involved with speaking for MADD locally and last year their corporate office flew me out to meet them and to speak to Congress in DC.  These past few years and as well as 2013, as time and availability permits, I will continue to donate my time (no fee) to all schools below the University level.  

There are many stories in the world of bodybuilding, and this is just one of them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.