A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

Witch hazel -

nuts!

After this morning's dampness it has become rather muggy and warm but I've not felt 100% for some reason. Didn't sleep too well so that's maybe why.

As a consequence I've not been anywhere today though chor starts again this evenings so I will be going out later. (Could be that the dreaded C word will come up!)

Over the weekend following butterflies and bees I noticed these 'nuts' on the Hamamelis - with hazels. I'm sure they e been there before but I can't remember being aware of them.

I chose these as it shows of the lovely coloured leaves too. This is the red flowering one seen here on the 1st January https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/2262251837547611156 and as you can see the leaves are red and coppery too. There are nuts on the yellow flowering one too, slightly smaller but perhaps more of them, where the leaves are still green.

Not sure I would like to eat any of them and they don't seem to be attracting anyone else, i.e. Squirrels. Still I rather like their quirky looks.

The extra came on Grace's What's app yesterday. John is painting mountains in the baby room. Think there are going to be some yellow ones too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.