Busy, busy

I watched a heavy shower coming in over Kerrera this morning and before long it hit us. The cats came out into the hall after breakfast and looked suggestively at the door, but when I opened it - they avoid the cat flap if there's a mug standing nearby to open the door for them - they looked at me to say 'Are you mad?' Too right!

It had dried up by lunchtime so I walked down to the town after lunch to stretch the legs and do a bit of shopping. As usual, I met several folk that I knew and I asked them what to an Obanite would be the town's most iconic building; I'm trying to come up with a good simple logo for 'Keep Oban Beautiful', something which we all agree would be instantly recognisable as in Oban. We have to be certain as it wouldn't look too good if we changed it after making it public! I don't think we shall get beyond McCaig's Tower - there probably isn't a town in the world to have a complete Colosseum on top of a hill within the town. There's one in Rome, of course, but it's broken, and one in Capua, which is derelict, so if you see a picture of a circular one it's almost certainly going to be in Oban! Time to get busy - any graphic designers out there?

Anyway, I digress. My Blip today is of a bit of a traffic jam out on the water. The big one is the good ship Braemar which is waiting for its passengers to come back from various bus trips out of Oban, the ferry is 'Clansman', off to Colonsay (I think), the lovely old boat on the right is the 'Glen Etive' and the small one in the foreground one of the local tour boats - I've forgotten its name. So a hive of activity!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.