Life through the lens...

By ValC

The fisherman

As it was a wet miserable day yesterday, I started on a photo book. It took a lot longer than I thought, and so I'm afraid I didn't take any photos.
However I think the one I have taken today makes up for it.
We decided to make the most of a fine day and go over to Golden Acre Park.
After a little lunch in the cafe, we had a look round the display of dahlias , and vegetable garden.
Then went for a walk round the lake, and into the Yorkshire Wildlife reserve.
From one of the hides we were thrilled to see the kingfisher at the far end of the lake. Then a few minutes later it dived in, caught a fish and came even closer to sit on this branch, which had been purposely positioned in the water.
We sat watching it for about 20 minutes, and in that time it caught four more fish, before it was frightened off by some seagulls, which took over his perch.
The park was very quiet today and we had the hide to ourselves most of the time.
Typically I only had my little pocket camera with me, and so the picture isn't a clear as I would have liked.
If I have any extra space left will also put a collage up of some other photos I took.
Certainly an enjoyable afternoon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.