The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Quiet day on the lake, Stratford Park, Stroud

On Monday this week I went back to work. We had in-service training on Monday and Tuesday, and I had to present a report at an AGM last night. Hence the lack of blips.

The children came back today, and it was lovely to see them again. We had an event-free day. Unless you count alarms!

Last night at the AGM we couldn't get into our hired venue without setting off the burglar alarm. It continued to sound for roughly an hour, by which time our speaker had begun his presentation...

This afternoon I popped into Tesco's at lunchtime. An alarm was sounding, and personnel were scurrying around looking baffled. As I stood in the checkout queue, it finally ceased, and the customers burst into spontaneous applause.

At swimming with the children today, the receptionist popped into our changing room to ask us if we knew that the alarm was going off! No, we didn't. One of the children had managed to press a big red panic button on the wall. After that, some other children got the idea and I ended up standing guard.

After the children left, and I stayed on for an extra hour of paperwork, yet another alarm went off. Apparently the fire alarm gets tested every Wednesday, but I was out of practice, being out of routine.

I wonder if I should be more alarmed? If everywhere I go, an alarm goes off, is there a message for me?

Right now, I'm watching watching Back, with David Mitchell and Robert Webb. Filmed in Stroud! I wrote about the filming earlier this year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.