Mixing concrete for step into studio

The final stage of the outside work for the studio was completed with pouring of concrete to form the extended step from the grass to the studio door. I'd already built a surround to contain the mix from spare granite blocks that we've found around the garden and this was the final stage.

This is the first time I've laid bricks or mixed concrete or used a mixer so I was a little apprehensive. But it seems to have gone well. The granite surrounds look fine and the concrete went down well. The biggest challenge was to order the correct number of bags of concrete. In the end I have one complete bag left out of 8. I didn't know if a mixer was a little overkill for a relatively small area but I'm glad I went with it as it was so much easier and less messy than churning the stuff by hand. And it went in the car too. I had the concrete delivered too, much more convenient than loading 8 bags into the boot.

In other news today, I spent over two hours waiting to see the Dr about a rash which he thought was an infection in the skin pores. Was given some antibiotics. I'd like it to be on the mend before we leave for Canada on Sunday. Spent some time finalising arrangements, trying to locate missing maps that I ordered with only two of the four having been delivered and a myriad of other little tasks. Meant to mention that I was given my USA ESTA in the end but only valid until the end of my passport in March next year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.