The lost garden of Atlantis

A pretty nasty day today, rain almost all the time, though it turned merely showery in the afternoon. I'd agreed to meet some folk down at the Millennium Garden between the play-parks next to the Atlantis Leisure Centre. As the garden has been badly trashed by the kids who play in it, local nursery staff will be carrying out some remedial work prior to the opening of the new play-park on 30th September, which will also mark the 25th birthday of the Leisure Centre, but as I plan to more or less look after the Garden with the help, though they don't know it yet, of Keep Oban Beautiful, I hope to have a presence of some sort there next Thursday and Friday.

There are some good plants in the garden, and of course some scruffy and damaged specimens too, but I'm sorry to see what is probably my least favourite tree, Populus candicans 'Aurora', with variegated leaves of the most hideous design. 'Vomitoria' would be a better name! They are said to be rather susceptible to canker, nudge, nudge, know what I mean!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.