Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Traveling Man

Up with the sun, gone with the wind
She always said I was lazy
Leavin' my home, leavin' my friends
Runnin' when things get too crazy
Out to the road, out 'neath the stars
Feelin' the breeze, passin' the cars - Bob Seger

Today started on a sad note when I got a call from our neighbor that their beloved Schnauzer, Scarlet, had passed in her sleep last night.  I've known Scarlet since she was a puppy who could fit in the palm of your hand and although we all knew her time was approaching, it was gut-wrenching to hear the news.  We'd just seen her when we were at their house Monday - so glad I got to snuggle with her one last time.  

So, on the heels of that, seeing an adult male hummingbird in the garden today lifted my spirits a bit.  It's getting late for the males to be passing through as they usually leave in late August.  There were also two juveniles in the garden, one male and one female, all vying for time at the feeders.  This male, while still handsome, is definitely in need of a molt to brighten his plumage - he's quite dull, as you can see.  BTW, this was shot at 1/1500 shutter, to give you an idea as to how fast his wings were moving!

In Monarch news, I was honored to release four perfect butterflies this afternoon. They went in honor of two grammies, one brother and one dear friend...all requested by Blip friends.  I've got two more who are ready to emerge but stubbornly waiting, so probably won't release them until tomorrow.  

And there are still many butterflies who need to honor someone when they leave...just send me a few words about who you'd like to remember.

I've got the people in Florida on my mind as Irma approaches with what appears to be a vengeance.  I hope all my Blip friends in Florida stay safe.  
xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.