Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

The Clock is Ticking...

...and very soon the hummingbirds will all be gone until nest spring.  There were three juveniles buzzing around today, including this female.  Mostly they are going for the sugar water in the nectar feeders, but the lobelia and zinnias are still getting a fair amount of action.  Shot is heavily cropped, but it'll do for today.

I released 10 monarchs today; 8 from yesterday and two that eclosed today.  In total, I've released 61 monarchs so far this year; 27 males and 34 females.  All of today's went in memory of someone.  Aunts, uncles, grandparents, parents, children, loved ones...each one with a special story.  It was still chilly when I took yesterday's 8 out and put each one in the garden.  I stayed with them, drinking my tea until the last one took to the skies.  That last one stayed quite some time, eventually taking off from my hand after we'd had a bit of a chat.

Still taking requests if you'd like me to release a monarch in memory of some special who's left this world.  

Lots of pollinators in the garden today, including this little pollen-covered bumble bee

Category 5 hurricane bearing down on Florida...much of Oregon covered in ash ...Houston still reeling from Harvey...stay safe, wherever you are in the world..

xo
Debbi 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.