Rainbow

Friday 8th September 2017 (1840)

A day of catching up with odd jobs and shopping. I wanted this year to be a year of different experiences but I haven't managed to do as much as I'd planned. However, tonight I had booked on a bat walk at Knowsley Safari Park. I was running a little late but as I turned out of our road I spotted this rainbow and had to stop and grab it. 

The evening started with a half hour talk about bats, which was quite interesting. It did try and rain a bit at the start and they said the forecast was clear and that would be good as bats don't like to fly in heavy rain. As we set out for the woods it wasn't raining. We were armed with bat meters which meant we could hear and distinguish the different calls. We did see quite a few flying around (see extra just to prove I saw one!) and we heard the call sounds of three different types - common pipistrelle, soprano pipistrelle and one I didn't catch the name of. Unfortunately we hadn't been out that long when the rain came down really heavy, the evening was cut short but I'd had my experience and seen enough anyway.

A little story "It's the principle ..."

Shopping today, buying T-shirts. £8.50 each or 2 for £13. 
Got to the till, items scanned
Assistant: £13.50 please.
Me: But it says 2 for £13. 
Assistant: I'll check with the supervisor. 
Supervisor: Ah but look, the red one is in the sale and marked down to £5. (£8.50 + £5 = £13.50).
Me: So it's in the sale and therefore costing me more?
Supervisor: No, it was £8.50 but is now £5.
Me: But it was 2 for £13 and it's now costing me £13.50. 
Supervisor: That's because it's in the sale and therefore not part of that offer. 
Me: But it clearly has a label attached to the shirt that says 2 for £13. 
Supervisor: That was before it was in the sale. You can't take advantage of both offers. 
Me: Can I pay full price then and get 2 for £13?
Supervisor: You want me to knock an extra 50p off?
Me: I certainly do. It's the principle of the thing! I can't be charged more when it's in the sale. 
Supervisor: OK, ok. 
:-)) I win. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.