I'm A Silly Coot

I grabbed my kit and left the house in a hurry, intending to call in at Fishers Green on the way to the shops. I sat in a traffic jam for an hour as there was a crash a couple of hundred yards from Stubbins Lane that leads to the nature reserve.

I got the above shot of a coot pirouetting with a crayfish and then spotted a kingfisher bobbing up and down on a branch quite near the hide and photographed that too. I was crestfallen when I looked at them on screen. I couldn't understand why they were so soft. At first I thought it was the poor light but it finally dawned on me that I'd accidentally locked my trombone action 100 - 400 at 220. I don't know why I didn't notice when I was shooting. Sod's law that it happened on the day I spotted a kingfisher posing nicely. :(

Today's poem is The Power And The Glory by Siegfried Sassoon. https://www.poetrynook.com/poem/power-and-glory-0

Bit too Goddy for me.   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.