Heritage Open Day

I must have looked at St Peter's Church millions of times. It is my view out of the window during the day.

But I have never been inside. 

Today it was open as part of the Heritage Open Day weekend. I have had a very busy day (which ended in Manchester), so my only opportunity was to wander across the road between meetings very early on for a quick 15 minutes look inside.

Rather surprised to find it has one of the best collections of stained glass in the north of England, including examples of William Morris and Edward Burne Jones. And the church itself is very fine indeed.

The old organ is clearly out of use. But there was an iPad connected to an electric keyboard, and some big speakers. Very 21st century. And no matter - it's not every day I start my day with Widor's Toccata.

I will have to have another look when I've a bit more time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.