The Roche revealed

It was not in my diary at the beginning of the day, but Rochdale was where I had to go at lunchtime.

I arrived well in time, and explained who I had come to see. Elsie would be down to collect me. I waited. That elderly lady heading my way must be Elsie - no, she has walked past. Maybe that lady over there. No, she is going somewhere else. Or maybe it's ......

When Elsie did arrive she was a bright and attractive young lady, and this was her second day at work.

There will come a time when the old people's homes are full of Darrens, Waynes, Jasons, Sharons and Alisons. And the bright young things are Arthurs, Bernards, Elsies and Annies. And maybe Gracies too - I hope there are plenty of young Gracies in Rochdale, for in a week or so's time a statue will be unveiled in front of the Town Hall celebrating Gracie Fields, one of the town's famous daughters.

The blip is of the uncovered River Roche, hidden for decades beneath roads, and including the old medieval bridges. Really impressive, and a fine setting for one of the UK's finest Town Halls. A favourite of Hitler's too - he famously gave instructions that it was not to be bombed by the Luftwaffe. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.