Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

Pattern repeats

Is probably what interests me most. I had intended to blip some embroidery but the photography showed up the stitch-work. Most of my embroidery is counted cross stitch on an even-weave textile except when I go off-piste and do chair backs which have a curiously distorted grid. 

Last year I began some traditional satin stitch embroidery which is what I had photographed for today but I think I would be better off waiting until rather more of it is completed and then I won't need to zoom in embarrassingly close to the tiny bit I have done.

But pattern repeats have always fascinated me. My first ever blip was a rotational pattern repeat, as was my sixth

If I am really happy with a design I will then see if I can make it work as an embroidery. I am particularly fascinated by Celtic knotwork which is my other current long-term embroidery project.

I need to thank Grace for introducing me to the work of Blousey Brown who does some amazing work and I was so fascinated by this that I had to go and play with some of my own. 

Then this week ceridwen blipped this and I just had to go and play with that ring-binder!

This is a quick-and-dirty first attempt, I will play with gentler colours another time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.