Skip's Blips

By Skip

Mrs. Cardinal

Several days ago I blipped a male cardinal, the state bird of Ohio. Today I would like to introduce you to his "better half", as the expression goes. In my opinion, the male is a beautiful, regal-looking bird. You can't beat those rich red feathers. Perhaps the female isn't as richly colored (although I'm not convinced of that), but I love her punk hairstyle, and she radiates personality. I actually like the spunky looking females better than their male counterparts. What do you think?

Our walk today was shorter than usual because of the cold. Last night the temperature strangely rose from about 29 degrees when I went to bed to 35 degrees when I got up this morning. I think it was in the low 20s and windy while we were in the park, but now it has fallen to 19. The predicted high temps for the next three days are 13, 10, and 5 degrees (Fahrenheit) with wind chill temps below zero. Maybe it would be a good time to visit my sister in Florida or my other sister in Arizona. Then again, maybe I'll wait until March, a seriously cold, wet, windy, snowy, and slushy month. That sounds like a plan!


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.