Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Number 68

This perfect female monarch is my 68th to be raised and released by me this summer.  It all started innocently enough when I gathered a few eggs from milkweed in my garden...and now I'm on track to release around 100 monarchs before the season ends in October.  

Many of you know that I have set a goal to ensure that every butterfly I release this year is in memory of someone who is gone, but not forgotten.  Today's girl goes in memory of Carol, the beloved sister of a friend of mine - I know she is deeply missed every single day.  Yesterday, I released a butterfly for a beautiful girl who would have been 26 years old on the 10th.  And recently, I sent one off in memory of my own great-grandmother who left this world in her late 90's.  

I am keeping a list of every person who has requested a release for someone.  By my reckoning, I have at least 30 more butterflies to emerge who will need to fly in someone's memory, so please leave me a comment or email me with names and anything else you'd care to share.  
I'm worried about my friends in Florida as this monstrous hurricane bears down.  Some have evacuated; others have stayed - I just hope that all remain safe.  Two Category 4 Hurricanes in less than three weeks to hit the United States ... unprecedented.

MIL is here for Sunday dinner, and I had a lovely chat with my own parents this morning, who are sitting tight in Portland, OR until the fires subside.  

Stay safe out there, people.

xo
Debbi

PS:  and if you'd like to see a rather adorable tiny jumping spider, click HERE

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.