If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Allegria.

I popped out to Rheged in the afternoon to see Clickychick and "the Mate".  I decided to have another wander round the Cumbria Artist of the year Exhibition, just to see if I had changed my mind.  Well I suppose I had slightly in that this piece was at least cheerful and colourful.

Allegria is a work by Richard Hughes.  He gets his inspiration from "unplanned encounters with discarded leftover materials".  This is from steamed wood coloured with dry pigments to enhance brightness and saturation.

The object in front is part of the art but I am afraid I see it as a health and safety risk.  here were half a dozen of these each with a skull mounted on them (sheep or Roe Deer).  As the wandered around anywhere under their own steam I can see somebody tripping over them.  The Roe Antlers have nasty points just ready to fall on.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.