If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Romneya coulteri

Another unexciting day.  Various jobs round home in the morning and in the afternoon I popped out to see Kanyl and deliver an awaited parcel.

During the afternoon I wandered round his garden, knowing I had probably exhausted our garden's photographic opportunities.  One of the eye catching plants in his garden is this Californian Tree Poppy.  I have never heard it called that so its "Romneya" to me.

Romney are a herbaceous perennial up to 2 m high (his is about 1.5m).  They are covered in large brilliantly white poppy like flowers with this fascinating centre.  His plant thrives, they won't grow for us a mere 6 miles away but we are a few hundred feet higher, so they probably succumb to winter.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.