Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Seeing the world through new eyes

Today I backed up a photographic walk organised by the Northern region of the Royal Photographic Society. My friend, Geoff Chrisp, was leading the walk. We met at Steel Rigg car park, already full by 1015am, to find that people had come from Manchester, Southport, Jeburgh and Chester-le-Street. There were 6 participants, the regional organiser, Geoff and me. (The people who booked and did not make contact to say they were not coming, missed a treat.)

Once I realised that almost all of the photographers were new to the Wall, I started to look at it with new eyes myself. I think that locals become blasé about their surroundings. Here is "Robin Hood's Tree" in Scyamore Gap. It is iconic, but one person didn't know that it was in the Kevin Cosner film of Robin Hood. This is the tree he climbed shortly after landing in Dover !!

I see this tree often and I see photos of it often, so I have not blipped it much myself. The light was good today. There was little sun but enought light for contrast on the stones of the Wall. It did drizzle on and off, but there was a magic moment as we looked at the tree from the north and suddenly some warm light illuminated it. One of the group captured his "shot of the day" with a 35 second exposure.

I dashed home, made a meal for us, then I was back at Baafest for the evening. It was wild and raining by now. I nearly stayed at home, but I was so glad I went. I danced in the ceilidh and then took photographs. The bands who were on were amazing, even the duo who used synth, keyboard and drums. It's not my thing, but I could admire their great skill. I loved Hareshaw Linn, a trio of students from the Northumbria Folk Music degree. I also loved Gerry Colvin who had us all doubled up with laughter and then delighted us with his music.

In my extra, you see him at the end of a song. That man certainly enjoys making music. It was pouring and the wind was raging outside. We were cold in the tent, but no one was going to leave early.

PS This is a back blip. I arrived home near to midnight and had no energy left to blip before bed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.